Skip to main content

Introduction

Following the ruling and observations made by the Court of Final Appeal in the case of W v Registrar of Marriages [2013] 3 HKLRD 90; FACV 4/2012 (13 May 2013), the Inter-departmental Working Group on Gender Recognition (“IWG”) was established in January 2014 to consider whether it is necessary to introduce legislation and incidental administrative measures to deal with issues concerning gender recognition in Hong Kong.


Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference of the IWG are:

  1. To consider legislation and incidental administrative measures that may be required to protect the rights of transsexual persons Note in all legal contexts, and to make such recommendations for reform as may be appropriate.
  2. For the aforesaid purpose, to conduct consultations and to engage the assistance of such experts or professionals as may be appropriate.

Note: “The World Health Organisation classifies transsexualism as a species of gender identity disorder involving: ‘a desire to live and be accepted as a member of the opposite sex, usually accompanied by a sense of discomfort with, or inappropriateness of, one’s anatomical sex, and a wish to have surgery and hormonal treatment to make one’s body as congruent as possible with one’s preferred sex.’ ”: see Court of Final Appeal judgment in W v The Registrar of Marriages [2013] 3 HKLRD 90; FACV 4/2012 (13 May 2013), at paragraph 5, quoting The World Health Organisation, “International Statistical Classification of Disease and Related Health Problems” (version 10), F64.


Membership

The IWG is chaired by the Secretary for Justice, with members from the legal community and representatives of relevant bureaux. The members are:

Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Mr Stewart Wong, SC
Mr Eric Cheung, Principal Lecturer, University of Hong Kong
Deputy Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs
Deputy Secretary for Food and Health (Health)
Deputy Secretary for Security.
Ms Michelle Ainsworth, Principal Government Counsel, is the IWG’s Secretary.


Scope of the IWG’s study

The IWG’s study is divided into two parts, covering: firstly, the need to establish a gender recognition scheme, if any, the criteria for determining whether a person is eligible for legal gender recognition and the relevant procedure (“recognition issues”); and secondly, issues arising in consequence of legal gender recognition (“post-recognition issues”). For the avoidance of doubt, it should be noted that other issues – such as same-sex marriage, civil partnership and discrimination against sexual minorities – are outside the scope of the IWG’s study.


Consultation

The IWG will consult widely in the course of its work before finalising its recommendations to the Government.

The IWG issued a public consultation paper on Part 1: Gender Recognition on 23 June 2017. The consultation period will end on 31 October 2017.

The IWG plans to submit a report to the Government after completing both parts of the study.

跳到主要内容

简介

为跟进终审法院在W诉婚姻登记官[2013] 3 HKLRD 90(终院民事上诉2012年第4号,2013年5月13日)一案的裁定和意见,政府于2014年1月13日成立性别承认跨部门工作小组(简称“工作小组”),研究是否需要就香港的性别承认议题进行立法和订立相关的行政措施。


职权范围

工作小组的职权范围如下:

  1. 研究全面保障变性人士的法律权利所可能需要的法例和相关行政措施,并作出合适的改革建议。
  2. 为达到上述目的,进行咨询和邀请合适的专家或专业人士协助。

注:见W诉婚姻登记官 [2013] 3 HKLRD 90(终院民事上诉2012年第4号,2013年5月13日)案判决书,第5段,当中引述世界卫生组织《疾病和有关健康问题的国际统计分类》(International Statistical Classification of Disease and Related Health Problems)第十次修订本的内容:“世界卫生组织把易性症定义为性别认同障碍的一种,涉及:‘渴望以异性身分生活并获接纳为异性的一员,而且通常会因自己身体显示的性别感到不自在或不合适,并希望接受外科手术及贺尔蒙治疗,使自己的身体与所属意的性别尽量相符。’  ”


工作小组成员

工作小组由律政司司长担任主席,成员包括法律界人士和相关决策局的代表。名单如下:

郑若骅女士,大紫荆勋贤,GBS,资深大律师,JP,律政司司长(主席)
黄继明先生,资深大律师
张达明先生,香港大学首席讲师
政制及内地事务局副秘书长
食物及卫生局副秘书长(卫生)
保安局副秘书长
工作小组秘书长为尹平笑女士(署理首席政府律师)。


工作小组的研究范围

工作小组的研究范围分为两大部分。研究的第一部分是探讨是否需要在香港设立性别承认制度;如是,申请法律上性别承认的人所需符合的资格和相关程序为何(“性别承认”的议题)。研究的第二部分将会探讨法律上性别承认所涉及的后续问题(“性别承认后”的议题)。为免产生疑问,必须在此指出,性别承认以外的其他议题,例如同性婚姻、民事伴侣关系和针对性小众的歧视行为,并不在是次研究范围之内。


咨询

工作小组就是次研究敲定最终建议之前,将会作出广泛咨询。

工作小组于2017年6月23日发表了一份咨询文件,题为咨询文件:第1部分:性别承认。咨询期将持续至2017年10月31日为止。

工作小组拟于完成两部分的研究之后向政府呈交一份报告书。